top of page

Travel Hacking Part IV: Stuff

Item: The Conga

This is one of my favorite personal travel items, and I have to give Erin Hardy credit for making me aware of just how useful this thing can be. It goes by many names and is popular in beachy places like Florida, Brazil, and Indonesia (I'm actually just listing places I've gotten congas from). It's pretty much a rectangle of thin fabric the size of a large scarf, used primarily as a beach wrap or towel. I use it as a towel when I travel as well because it dries easily and I don't need to bring a bulky towel. It's really compact so I usually have it in my backpack in case I need to sit on the grass for a sporadic picnic or reading sesh. It can also be easily tied up into a dress/shirt/skirt or used as a scarf when cold weather takes you by surprise.

Item: Coconut Oil

Again, never even heard of this until Erin Hardy called me and told me to buy and jar and see where it goes. Anyone who knows someone who uses coconut oil knows the enthusiasm with which our kind RAVE about this shit, and use it for everything by which I mean EVERYTHING. I can't even list all the uses possible so I'm gonna link someone who has and then write what I use it for:

(wellness mama)

-moisturizer

-shaving cream

-makeup remover

-chapstick

-cooking oil

-energy

-natural lube

-cures yeast infections

-bulletproof coffee

Item: 4 Wheeled Suitcases

I have a large suitcase and a smaller weekend suitcase for short trips, which both open in the middle and have four wheels. Those two things are a MUST if you're shopping for a new suitcase, which I learned when I was travelling with a friend who had one and I envied her for a full 48 hours of travelling standby. The option of pushing your upright suitcase rather than pulling its full weight is a luxury everybody should experience. The smaller suitcase is perfect for weekend trips because it fits as a carry-on on cheap airline flights and has wheels. I also covered mine in stickers, the sign of a true nomad.

Item: THE fur hat

This one is a bit controversial. In my defense I acquired the hat through my dad's work, which means it was unwanted by thrift shops and going to be sold for weight if I hadn't snagged it… and the rabbit was already dead. At least the whole animal was used, right? Ok, so even if you don't agree with the ethics of my fashion choices, if you tried this hat on you'd understand. I fucking love this hat. It's ridiculously soft, warm, and big enough that you lose the top half of your vision. The top flap can be put down so that you can't see (instant eye mask) and the ear flaps block out most sound, so that everything becomes a muffled hum. On airplanes I always bring it because I have a pillow in any position. Sleeping on airplanes is nearly impossible and never comfortable, but this my personal remedy to that.

Item: Fjallraven backpack

The ultimate hipster accessory, formerly the telltale sign of someone being from Scandinavia. I learned about this in Sweden from a friend who had the one her mom had used throughout school, and it was still in great condition. They're a little pricey but last forever. I'm a fan of the square design and that it opens completely, as well as the extra straps and buttons which make it able to be carried like a purse. I bring this as my carry on and with me almost everywhere I go.

Item: Tevas

Tevas, Chacos, Colombia… whatever the brand, you know what I'm talking about- those shoes with the straps that Europeans famously like to wear with sandals. As a Florida girl these are perfect for me because I can walk through the rain or mud and still be cool. Great for adventuring in the heat, outdoor festivals, and unpredictable weather. They're also a hipster thing now so I can wear them other places and I don't look like a freak! Thank god for the eccentricities of fashion.

Item: Fanny packs!!!

Hear me now and absorb my message: #ThePackisBack. Yes, the fanny back has come back into style and I have taken the role of being its overzealous messenger. They're incredibly practical; you can stuff all your belongings in it and walk around with your hands free. They're great for music festivals, dancing, protecting valuables from getting stolen, travelling, and going to bars without getting hit on

Item: Collapsible water bottle

You should always have a water bottle on you, even if it's a reused bottle of juice you bought just so that you'd have a water bottle. If you're better than me at not losing water bottles go for a collapsible one so that (obviously) when it's empty it doesn't take up any space and can easily fit in your fanny pack. They're also lighter since they're made of plastic.

Item: World Market Scissors

My sister bought some of these and gave me one. I discovered that somehow these scissors the size of your thumb are allowed through security! By which I mean I've travelled with them in my carry on through at least 4 security checkpoints and never been stopped. So no guarantees but I'd say they're safe. I keep one in my mini first aid kit, and they're also great if you like to collage or make string bracelets on planes.

Item: First Aid Kit(s)

I pack two first aid kits when I travel: one of small useful things packed snugly into a band aid tin which I usually have with me in my backpack, and the other is bigger and has all of the medication I could ever want for anything. Americans tend to be more medicated than most, and it can be hard to find the stuff you're used to in another country.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page