top of page

Travel Hacking

People often ask me, how do you go so many places? As in, how can I afford to feed my travel addiction despite being broke, not financially supported by my family, and on track in college? It's not a simple answer but it is a collecton of simple things. Apparently these are called travel hacks. I have decided to share with you, my followers, my dearest and most secret tricks of travel.

Read on only if you absolutely can't help yourself.

I want to explain how I never have to pay for a hotel, how I went from Freiburg to Berlin to Oslo to Paris and back to Freiburg for less than 100 euros, how to get international plane tickets for less than $300 and travel across a country for less than $30, how to pick up a language like a native or just enough to get by, how to make money while travelling or get paid for doing it, how to go to Oktoberfest and stay in a hotel without booking months in advance, how to pack light, and how to sleep well on a plane.

As I attempt to assemble all of the lists and links I have, I'm going to break down what I know into sections.

1 | INSPIRE

2 | AFFORD

3 | EXCEL

4 | UNDERSTAND

This first post will be about motivation, about taking the leap and overcoming the "yeah, but...".

INSPIRE

“Yeah, but…” is pernicious. Because it makes it sound like we have the best of intentions when really we are just too scared to do what we should. It allows us to be cowards, while sounding noble. Be careful of the yeah-but. The yeah-but will kill your dreams."

At any point in life the biggest obstacle to travelling is making excuses. I'm going attempt to argue against those to convince you to JUST DO IT! The article above encourages young people to travel while you still have a reasonable amount of control over your circumstances and aren't tied down with too many responsibilities. Its truly the best way to educate yourself by taking risks and being exposed to people and places different from what you've grown up with. Before deciding what to do with your life, expand your options by discovering what the world has to offer. But even if you're not young, don't use that as an excuse! The best way to break out of routine is to uproot yourself and go somewhere where no one knows your name. Get out of your comfort zone.

Next- choose where you're going, and get excited about it! Explore your options. Daydream about somewhere more exotic than you'll probably decide to go to. Remember, if nothing else, take a trip within your own country! Explore natural wonders and big cities near you. Take a spontaneous weekend trip.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page